Introduction

Welcome!!!

This is a live blog for a class I am taking this semester at Carlow University. Given that this will be available to the general public as well as my professor, I thought it would be appropriate to give a general overview of the class and the assignment. The class is titled “Communication and Healthcare’ and it covers a very broad spectrum of the healthcare industry and focuses on the ways communication impact the way we view and experience healthcare. The text for this class is Communicating About Health 3rd edition, by Athena du Pre. As I post blog content, I will tie in key concepts from the text and shall refer to the book as a reference for further study.  I will do my best to make sure I explain the content for those who are not familiar with the text or healthcare in general. For the assignment portion of the class, I will be focusing on various aspects of healthcare as depicted in mass media, either through T.V. shows or movies. I plan to review many films and television shows in an effort to make this a well-balanced blog. If you have any suggestions for films or shows, please leave them in the comments!

I hope that you enjoy watching the clips as well as reading my commentary. Most of all, I hope that something sparks an interest with you and that you are pushed to start asking questions about your own experiences with healthcare.

Until next time…

-N

Leave a Reply

